Flash Fury Winner

flashfury_finalMy flash fiction story, “Goodbye, Sunshine,” has won first place in Molotov Cocktail’s Flash Fury Contest! This is such a HUGE honour that I am honestly stunned. Thank you, Editor Josh Goller and co-judge(s) for loving this unsettling piece of writing.

Other prize winners are: Lisa Fagaly with “Cloud Rage” (second place) and Layla Al-Bedawi with “Midgut Rock” (third place.)

Honorable Mentions (4th to 10th) were given to: Fred Senese, Melissa Monks, Lindsay Dick, Heidi Sterling, Joseph Grantham, Kyle Yadlowski, and Holly Collingwood. Congratulations! I hear it was an incredibly tight race. (Complete results here.)

The Flash Fury mega issue with all ten stories is live on Molotov Cocktail’s website: go read it. In addition, a special print anthology of all prize winners will be coming out this September.

Molotov Cocktail holds two themed flash fiction contests a year. Flash Fury was their fourth, with the fifth one, another Flash Monster opening up soon.

– Sylvia

Leave a Reply